

UNESCO Asia-Pacific Awards for

Cultural Heritage Conservation

- 2021 -

Jury Members

Mr. Dong Wei is the UNESCO Chair in Cultural Resource Management at Southeast University's School of Architecture in Nanjing, China. He was educated at the Xi'an Institute of Metallurgy and Building (now Xi'an Architecture University), the Traditional Architecture and Garden Design Institute of Xi'an, and Nanjing Institute of Technology (now Southeast University). After obtaining his Ph.D. at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology, he was a post-doctoral researcher at Tsinghua University in Beijing. Professor Dong was involved in the restoration of Zhongshan Road in Quanzhou, Fujian Province, a project that was recognized with a 2001 Award of Merit. In 1998, Professor Dong led an architectural survey of intact traditional buildings in the Xijin Ferry area in Zhenjiang, Jiangsu Province, a project that also received a 2001 Award of Merit.

Mr. Richard A. Engelhardt is concurrently the UNESCO Chair Professor of the Conservation and Management of Historic Towns and Urban Centres at the National College of Art in Pakistan; Honorary Professor of Conservation Architecture at Southeast University in Nanjing, China; and Visiting University Research Professor in the Faculty of Architecture at the University of Hong Kong. Professor Engelhardt has received numerous honours and awards in recognition of his contribution to the conservation of Asian heritage from governments of the region as well as from the Global Heritage Fund.

Ms. Narayani Gupta is a consultant with Indian National Trust for Art and Cultural Heritage. She has taught history at Indraprastha College for Women, and joined the Jamia Millia Islamia University in 1986. Her research has been on urban history, particularly that of Delhi, and she has many books to her credit. She was a founder member of the Conservation Society of Delhi and has been a member of the Delhi Urban Art Commission.

Mr. Laurence Loh is recognised as a leading conservation architect and cultural heritage expert in Malaysia and in the Asia-Pacific region. He lectures frequently at the University of Hong Kong and at the International Centre for the Study of the Preservation and Restoration of Cultural Property in Rome. Currently, he is the deputy-president of the Heritage of Malaysia Trust, an adviser to the Hong Kong Institute of Architectural Conservationists and a director of Think City.

Ms. Lu Wenyu an architect co-founded Amateur Architecture Studio with Wang Shu in 1997 and together they founded the architecture department at China Academy of Art in 2003. Lu, working together with Wang Shu as partner, has completed numerous projects, including but not limited to Ningbo Historic Museum, Xiangshan Campus of China Academy of Art, Preservation and Renovation of Southern Song Imperial Street, Fuyang Cultural Complex, Renovation of Wencun Village, and Ningbo Tengtou Pavilion in Shanghai Expo. She was awarded Schelling Architecture Prize in Germany, and an Honorary Award from the Venice Biennale in 2010. Lu was a visiting Professor at Harvard GSD 2011, and listed among the RIBA's 2015 Fellowships. She is a curatorial juror of the curation for XII International Architecture Biennale of São Paulo and an honorary juror of Global Award for Sustainable Architecture 2019. She was the recipient 2019 Gold Medal of Tau Sigma Delta in USA.

Ms. Anna Yau has been working for over a decade in heritage revitalisation, management and education. She is an accredited heritage conservationist (ICOMOS, HKICON) and Project Management Professional (PMI). Her cultural heritage management experience includes built heritage conservation, safeguarding of intangible cultural heritage, heritage entrepreneurship; as well as teaching and training in the Asia Pacific region. In 2015, she was selected as the delegate of China to participate in UNESCO first World Heritage Youth Forum in Asia. She is currently a project manager for HSBC Rural Sustainability Programme at HKU – awardee of the inaugural Special Recognition for Sustainable Development award of 2020 UNESCO Asia Pacific Heritage Conservation Award. The project aims to develop a socioeconomic model for sustainable development of rural landscape heritage. She is currently a Coop committee member of Livelihood of Mei Ho House Museum Working Group for Hong Kong Youth Hostels Association, member of Docomomo HK, and Partner of non-profit organization Contemplate Culture Community.

Mr. Yeo Kang Shua is a President and Founding Director of International Council on Monuments and Sites (ICOMOS) in Singapore. His research areas are architectural history, theory and criticism, architectural conservation, sustainable design science, and architectural information management. In 2010 to 2014, he had been involved in the restoration of some Singapore's religious and institutional building and awarded the UNESCO Asia-Pacific Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation.