You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 04:00:56 Mar 23, 2022, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide

UNESCO/Jikji Memory of the World Prize: Call for nominations


UNESCO is now receiving nominations for the 9th edition of the UNESCO/Jikji Memory of the World Prize. Member States, in consultation with their National Commissions, as well as international non-governmental organizations (NGOs) maintaining official relations with UNESCO and whose work is in the field of preservation and conservation of documentary heritage are thus encouraged to submit their nominations no later than 30 April 2022.

Full information is provided in the Guidelines for Nominations and Adjudicators. Each nomination must emphasize:

  • the impact of the candidate’s contribution to the preservation and accessibility of documentary heritage, through activities piloted and developed, innovations, education, leadership etc.; 
  • any unusual difficulties which the candidate has had to overcome in undertaking preservation and access work in the area of documentary heritage; and
  • Uniqueness of expertise which candidates might utilize in preserving and accessing documentary material, which although rare or localized, constitutes world (as opposed to national heritage).

The Prize was created to commemorate the inscription of the Buljo jikji simche yojeol – the oldest known book of moveable metal print in the world – on the Memory of the World International Register. As such, it has become an important symbol of the Memory of the World Programme’s efforts to support the preservation and accessibility of documentary heritage as a common heritage of humanity.

The Prize is funded by the Republic of Korea through arrangements made with the Municipal Council of Cheongju City. Consisting of US $30,000, the award is given every two years in order to honour individuals or institutions that have made significant contributions to the preservation and accessibility of documentary heritage.

Nominations should be submitted in either English or French by completing the nomination form and sending it, no later than 30 April 2022, to:

  • Mr Fackson Banda
    Head, Documentary Heritage Unit (Memory of the World),
    Communication and Information Sector, UNESCO
    7 place de Fontenoy, 75732 Paris Cedex 15
    Email: f.banda@unesco.org (link sends e-mail) and mowsecretariat@unesco.org