3 MSP



United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization The Protection of the Underwater Cultural Heritage

UCH/11/3.MSP/220/6 6 December 2010 Original: English

**Distribution limited** 

#### UNITED NATIONS EDUCATIONAL, SCIENTIFIC AND CULTURAL ORGANIZATION

# CONVENTION ON THE PROTECTION OF THE UNDERWATER CULTURAL HERITAGE

## MEETING OF STATES PARTIES TO THE CONVENTION ON THE PROTECTION OF THE UNDERWATER CULTURAL HERITAGE

Third session Paris, UNESCO Headquarters, Room IV 13 – 14 April 2011

Item 6 of the Provisional Agenda: Election of the Members of the Scientific and Technical Advisory Body

Decision required : paragraph 7

- In its first session and by Resolution 5/MSP 1, the Meeting of States Parties established a Scientific and Technical Advisory Body (hereinafter "the Advisory Body") according to Article 23.4 of the Convention. In the same Resolution, the Meeting of States Parties adopted the Statutes of the Advisory Body. The second session elected 11 members of the Advisory Body, exceptionally all for a two-year term.
- The term of the current members of the Advisory Body has expired and in accordance with Rule 21 of the Rules of Procedure of the Meeting of States Parties (hereinafter "the Rules of Procedure"), a State Party may nominate an expert for elections to represent it in the Advisory Body.
- 3. According to Rule 22 of the Rules of Procedure, the election of members of the Advisory Body shall be conducted with due regard to the principle of equitable geographical distribution and the desirability of a gender balance as well as a balance of domains of expertise. Experts shall have a scientific, professional and ethical background at the national and/or international level adequate to the task, in conformity with the objective and purpose of the Convention, in particular, in the field of underwater archaeology, international law, materials science (metallurgy, archaeo-biology, geology), and conservation of underwater cultural heritage sites and/or archaeological underwater artefacts.
- 4. In accordance with Article 2 (a) of its Statutes, the Advisory Body shall be composed of twelve Members. The Meeting of Parties may increase this number to up to twenty four depending on the number of States Parties.
- 5. With the invitations to the third session of the Meeting of States Parties, State Parties had been asked to nominate a candidate for elections to represent it in the Advisory Body, in compliance with Rule 24 of the Rules of Procedure. The provisional list of candidates and the background information required is to be found in document UCH/11/3.MSP/220/INF4.

- 6. A repartition of States, which are States Parties to the Convention at the moment of the third session of the Meeting, within electoral groups appears in Annex of the present document.
- 7. The Meeting of States Parties may wish to adopt the following resolution :

## DRAFT RESOLUTION 6/MSP 3:

The Meeting of States Parties, in its third session,

1. Having examined document UCH/11/3.MSP/220/6;

2. <u>Decides</u> that, for the purpose of the elections of the Members to the Scientific and Technical Advisory Body to the Meeting of States Parties to the Convention on the Protection of the Underwater Cultural Heritage, the 12 seats will be distributed among the electoral groups as follows:

> Group I (...); Group II (...); Group III (...); Group IV (...); Group V (a) (...); Group V (b).

## ANNEX:

#### Repartition of States Parties to the to the Convention on the Protection of the Underwater Cultural Heritage within Electoral Groups

Number of States Parties at the opening of the 3rd session of the Meeting of States Parties: 36

### Group I

Italy Portugal Spain

# Group II

Albania Bosnia and Herzegovina Bulgaria Croatia Lithuania Montenegro Romania Slovakia Slovenia Ukraine

#### Group III

Argentina Barbados Cuba Ecuador Grenada Haïti Honduras Mexico Panama Paraguay Saint Lucia Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Trinidad and Tobago

#### **Group IV**

Cambodia	
Iran (Islamic	Republic of)

#### Group V (a)

Democratic Republic of Congo Gabon Nigeria

# Group V (b)

Jordan

# UCH/11/3.MSP/220/7 - page 5

Lebanon Libyan Arab Jamahiriya Tunisia