You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 07:41:02 Apr 01, 2022, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide

Permanent Delegations and Permanent Observer Missions to UNESCO

The Permanent Delegations to UNESCO ensure liaison between Member States' Governments and the Organization’s Secretariat.

At present, 184 Member States have established Permanent Delegations to UNESCO. In addition, there are Permanent Observers and intergovernmental organizations with Permanent Observer Missions to UNESCO.

The Permanent Delegations are headed by a person having diplomatic status (generally with the rank of ambassador). When a Permanent Delegate is appointed to the Organization, the appointment is the subject of an official communication addressed to the Director-General of the Organization.

The "Directory of Permanent Delegations to UNESCO" is established according to the communications received from Permanent Delegates of Member States, Permanent Observers and Permanent Representatives of the Intergovernmental Organizations accredited at UNESCO.

In accordance with the diplomatic usage and practice followed by the United Nations (in New York) and the other organizations of the United Nations system, this directory mentions under the heading "Permanent Delegations of Member States", only the members of the delegations which have the diplomatic statute and which exert diplomatic functions.

Any modification or addition to the present list have to be communicated by the Head of the Permanent Mission, to the following address:

Mr Chief of Protocol
Sector for Priority Africa and External Relations
7, place de Fontenoy
75352 PARIS 07 SP