You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 22:34:27 Apr 02, 2022, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide

Who's who?

UNESCO’s work on climate change is carried out by a large number of staff at UNESCO Headquarters and in the UNESCO Field Offices. Today, all of UNESCO’s Sectors and intergovernmental and international programmes feature important climate change activities. In additional, several UNESCO Institutes and Centres, as well as UNESCO Chairs, are actively engaged in climate change work.

In order to facilitate coordination and cooperation among Field Offices, with and within Headquarters, UNESCO has established an ‘Intersectoral Platform for Action to Address Climate Change’ tasked to oversee the UNESCO Climate Change Initiative and the associated UNESCO Strategy for Action on Climate Change.


Intersectoral Platform on Climate Change

Ms Wendy Watson-Wright
Lead ADG for the Intersectoral Platform on Climate Change
Assistant Director-General and Executive Secretary, Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC)

Mr Peter Dogsé
Manager of the Intersectoral Platform on Climate Change
Programme Specialist, Division of Ecological and Earth Sciences, MAB Programme

Sector Climate Change Focal Points

Education Sector
Ms Julia Heiss
Ms Yoko Mochizuki

Natural Sciences Sector and Man and Biosphere Programme
Mr Peter Dogsé

Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission
Mr Albert Fischer
Mr Jorge Luis Valdes

International Hydrological Programme
Mr Siegfried Demuth
Mr Anil Mishra

Energy and Renewable Energies
Mr Osman Benchikh

Social and Human Sciences Sector
Mr John Crowley

Culture Sector
Mr Marc Patry

Communication and Information Sector
Mr Fackson Banda

Small Island Developing States Platform
Mr Douglas Nakashima
Mr Hans Thulstrup

Africa Platform
Mr Cheikhna Sankare
Ms Shamila Nair-Bedouelle

Office of the Director-General - Division for Gender Equality
Ms Sara Callegari

Bureau of Strategic Planning
Ms Clare Stark

Management of Support Services
Mr John Miller

Field Office Climate Change Focal Points

See the Directors of the respective Field Offices.

UNESCO Institute and Centres

International Centre for Theoretical Physics ICTP, Trieste (Italy)
Mr Filippo Giorgi

UNESCO-IHE Institute for Water Education, Delft (The Netherlands)
Mr András Szöllösi-Nagy


For general information about UNESCO's climate activities, please send an email to the Platform Manager, Mr Peter Dogsé:  p.dogse(at)unesco.org

Back to top