### **Finnish National IGCP Committee**

# **Annual Report of Activities in 2016**

Finnish National Committee for Geology is the national body related to both IGCP and IUGS. The committee is a representative body, containing members from Geological Survey of Finland, from five Finnish Universities and from five geoscientific societies.

**Chair:** Prof. Juha Karhu, University of Helsinki

Members: Director General Mika Nykänen, Geological Survey of Finland

Prof. Aarno Kotilainen, Geological Survey of Finland

Prof. Olav Eklund, Åbo Akademi University

Prof. Eero Hanski, University of Oulu Prof. Jussi Leveinen, Aalto University Prof. Timo Saarinen, University of Turku

M.Sc. Jyrki Bergström, Finnish Association of Mining and Metallurgical Engineers

Dr. Annakaisa Korja, Geological Society of Finland Dr. Pekka Ihalainen, Engineering-Geological Society Ph.Lic. Markku Lehtinen, Mineralogical Society of Finland

Prof. Juha-Pekka Lunkka, Finnish Academy of Science and Letters

Secretary: M.Sc. Anu Kaskela, Geological Survey of Finland

**Contact:** Finnish National Committee for Geology

Anu Kaskela (secretary) Geological Survey of Finland

P.O. BOX 96 FI-02151 Espoo

Finland

E-mail: anu.kaskela@gtk.fi

#### **Activities in 2016**

As tasks associated with IUGS, the national committee has been active in arrangements of the Day of Geology in Finland and responsible for the organization of the web-based geology portal (<a href="www.geologia.fi">www.geologia.fi</a>) for students, teachers and the general audience. The committee has also been in charge of the operation of the Stratigraphic Committee of Finland, with a task to develop procedures for the formalization of the stratigraphic nomenclature in Finland.

### Activities in the IGCP scientific board

Dr. Raimo Lahtinen has acted as a member in the scientific board of the Earth Resources Theme Group.

# **Ongoing IGCP research projects**

Finland is taking part in Project 624 - OneGeology, which is a voluntary initiative of the Geological Surveys.

Report prepared by

Anu Kaskela Secretary of the Finnish National Committee for Geology, Finnish IGCP National Committee