Finnish National IGCP Committee

Annual Report of Activities in 2017

Finnish National Committee for Geology is the national body related to both IGCP and IUGS. The committee is a representative body, containing members from Geological Survey of Finland, from five Finnish universities and from five geoscientific societies.

Chair: Director, Science and Innovations, Dr. Pekka Nurmi, Geological Survey of Finland

Members: Dr. Asko Käpyaho, Geological Survey of Finland

Prof. Olav Eklund, Åbo Akademi University

Prof. Jussi Leveinen, Aalto University Prof. Tapani Rämö, University of Helsinki Prof. Timo Saarinen, University of Turku Prof. Kari Strand, University of Oulu

Dr. Pekka Ihalainen, Engineering-Geological Society Ph.Lic. Markku Lehtinen, Mineralogical Society of Finland

Prof. Juha-Pekka Lunkka, Finnish Academy of Science and Letters

Prof. Petri Peltonen, Geological Society of Finland

M.Sc. Leena Rajavuori, Finnish Association of Mining and Metallurgical Engineers

Secretary: Dr. Riikka Kietäväinen, Geological Survey of Finland

Contact: Finnish National Committee for Geology

Riikka Kietäväinen (secretary) Geological Survey of Finland

P.O. Box 96 FI-02151 Espoo

Finland

E-mail: riikka.kietavainen@gtk.fi

Activities in 2017

As tasks associated with IUGS, the national committee has been responsible for the organization of the web-based geology portal (www.geologia.fi) for students, teachers and the general audience. The committee has also been in charge of the operation of the Stratigraphic Committee of Finland, with a task to develop procedures for the formalization of the stratigraphic nomenclature in Finland.

Activities in the IGCP scientific board

Prof. Ferenc Molnár has acted as a member in the scientific board of the Earth Resources Theme Group.

Report prepared by

Riikka Kietäväinen Secretary of the Finnish National Committee for Geology, Finnish IGCP National Committee