About UNESCO Almaty

The representation of UNESCO in Almaty was established in 1994 and covers four countries: Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan. It works through and in cooperation with the National Commissions for UNESCO in each country and partner networks in its fields of competence. This includes government partners, members of the UN family, other intergovernmental organizations, NGOs, experts and researches, private sector companies, foundations, media outlets, and other specialized institutions.

Silk Roads Heritage Corridors in Afghanistan, Central Asia and Iran

UNESCO-EU project launched in 2018

Strengthening education in Tajikistan

UNESCO launches education project in Tajikistan

Regional Project on climate change in Central Asia

UNESCO-Adaptation Fund project

Trust-building for social cohesion in Kyrgyzstan

Meaningful engagement of civil society for conflict prevention and peacebuilding

Meron Shegene

Get involved with UNESCO

Take a stance and help us bring change!

UNESCO Sites & Designations in the Region

World Heritage Sites

in the Region

Elements of Intangible Cultural Heritage

and Safeguarding practices in the Region

Endangered Languages

registered by States in the Region are being monitored

Biosphere Reserves

in the Region

Creative cities

in the Region

Heritage documentaries

in the Region listed on the Memory of the World Register

Publications & Reports from UNESCO

Improving knowledge of Central Asian glaciers and their resilience to climate change
UNESCO Almaty highlights report for 2020
UNESCO Office Almaty
Policy brief: higher education in Central Asia

Access our publications catalogue

and learn more about our actions and work at UNESCO Almaty