5 MSP





Educational, Scientific and against the illicit trafficking Cultural Organization of cultural property

United Nations . Convention for the fight

C70/19/5.MSP/12 Paris, April 2019 **Original: English**

Limited Distribution

Meeting of States Parties to the UNESCO Convention on the Means of Prohibiting and Preventing the Illicit Import, Export and Transfer of Ownership of Cultural Property (UNESCO, Paris, 1970)

Fifth Meeting Paris, UNESCO Headquarters, Room XI 20 and 21 May 2019

Item 12 of the Provisional Agenda: Elections to the Subsidiary Committee of the Meeting of States Parties to the 1970 Convention

> This document presents the Elections to the Subsidiary Committee of the Meeting of States Parties to the 1970 Convention.

> > Draft Resolution: Paragraph 5

Background and distribution of seats

- In accordance with Article 14.5 of the Rules of Procedure of the Meeting of States Parties to the Convention on the Means of Prohibiting and Preventing the Illicit Import, Export and Transfer of Ownership of Cultural Property (1970) (hereinafter "the 1970 Convention") every two years the Meeting of States Parties shall renew half of the members of the Subsidiary Committee. These members shall be elected for a term of four years.
- 2. As per Article 14.4 of the Rules of Procedure, the Committee shall be composed of representatives of 18 States Parties, three per regional group. The election of the Committee shall follow the principles of equitable geographical representation and rotation. A member to the Committee may not be elected for two consecutive terms.
- 3. During the Fourth Meeting of States Parties (15-16 May 2017, UNESCO Headquarters) nine States Parties were elected as members of the Subsidiary Committee. The list was provided in Resolution 4.MSP 16 as follows:

Group I:			
Cyprus	Sweden	Turkey	
(2015-2019)	(2017-2021)	(2017-2021)	
Group II:			
Albania	Armenia	Poland	
(2017-2021)	(2015-2019)	(2015-2019)	
Group III:			
Bolivia	Honduras	Peru	
(2015-2019)	(2017-2021)	(2017-2021)	
(2010/2010)	(2011/2021)		
Group IV:			
Afghanistan	India	Republic of Korea	
(2015-2019)	(2015-2019)	(2017-2021)	
Group V(a):			
Democratic Republic of	Zambia	Côte d'Ivoire	
Congo (2015-2019)	(2017-2021)	(2017-2021)	
Group V(b):			
Iraq	Libya	Egypt	
(2015-2019)	(2015-2019)	(2017-2021)	

Procedure for the election of members of the Subsidiary Committee

4. The Rules of Procedure of the Meeting of States Parties to the 1970 Convention make no provision on the procedure for the election of the Subsidiary Committee's members. In line with the established practice for elections to the Intergovernmental Committees established by other Culture Sector Conventions, the Secretariat proposes that the following rules be applied:

Step 1: before the vote, and <u>at the latest two working days before the beginning of the meeting</u>, that is, before 10 a.m. on 16 May 2019, those States Parties wishing to stand for election to the Subsidiary Committee shall so inform the Secretariat by e-mail at (convention1970@unesco.org). Once the list of candidates has been drawn up by the Secretariat, it shall be transmitted to the Chairperson at the opening of the meeting.

<u>Step 2</u>: before the vote, the Chairperson shall appoint two tellers from among the delegations of States Parties present. The Chairperson shall hand to them the list of States entitled to vote and the list of States Parties candidates. He/She shall announce the number of seats to be filled.

<u>Step 3</u>: the Secretariat shall distribute to those Delegations one ballot paper bearing the list of all the States Parties candidates.

<u>Step 4</u>: each Delegation shall cast its vote by circling the names of those States for which it wishes to vote.

<u>Step 5</u>: the tellers shall collect from each Delegation the ballot papers and shall count the votes, under the supervision of the Chairperson. If more names of States have been circled than there are seats to be filled, ballot papers shall be considered invalid. Shall be considered as abstentions empty envelopes and ballot papers on which no names of States have been circled.

<u>Step 6</u>: the candidates who obtain the most votes in each electoral group shall be declared elected. If two or more candidates obtain the same number of votes, the Chairperson shall hold a second vote. If the second vote does not produce the required result, the Chairperson shall draw lots to allocate the remaining seats.

<u>Step 7</u>: The Chairperson shall announce the results of the election.

5. The Fifth Meeting of States Parties may wish to adopt the following resolution:

DRAFT RESOLUTION 5.MSP 12

The Fifth Meeting of States Parties,

1. Having examined document C70/19/5.MSP/12;

2. <u>*Recalling*</u> Articles 14.4 and 14.5 of the Rules of Procedure of the Meeting of States Parties to the 1970 Convention, adopted at the Second Meeting of States Parties to the 1970 Convention (June 2012);

3. <u>Elects</u> the following nine States Parties as Members of the Subsidiary Committee of the Meeting of States Parties to the 1970 Convention:

Group I:		
Group II:		
Group III:		
Group IV:		
Group V(a):		
Group V(b):		