

INTERNATIONAL DAY OF LIGHT 2021

Trust Science Declaration and Pledge

FOUNDING SIGNATORIES

NOBEL & BREAKTHROUGH PRIZE LAUREATES

Jocelyn Bell Burnell

Special Breakthrough Prize Winner 2017 University of Oxford

John C. Mather

Nobel Laureate in Physics 2006

William Moerner

Nobel Laureate in Chemistry 2014 Stanford University

Gerard Mourou

Nobel Laureate in Physics 2018 Ecole Polytechnique, France

Paul Nurse FRS

The Francis Crick Institute, London UK Nobel Laureate in Physiology or Medicine 2001

William D. Phillips

Nobel Laureate in Physics 1997 Joint Quantum Institute, USA

Didier Queloz

Nobel Laureate in Physics 2019 Cavendish Laboratory, University of Cambridge

Donna Strickland

Nobel Laureate in Physics 2018 University of Waterloo, Canada

Rainer Weiss

Nobel Laureate in Physics 2017 Massachusetts Institute of Technology

UNESCO PRIZE WINNERS, CHAIRS & LEADERSHIP

Zohra ben Lakhdar

L'Oréal-UNESCO for Women in Science laureate 2005 Tunisia

Atish Dabholkar

Director, International Centre for Theoretical Physics Assistant Director General, UNESCO

Anne L'Huillier

L'Oréal-UNESCO for Women in Science laureate 2011 Lund University, Sweden

Tebello Nyokong HonFRSC, OMB, FRSSA

L'Oréal-UNESCO for Women in Science laureate 2009 Rhodes University, South Africa

Federico Rosei

Institut National de la Recherche Scientifique Varennes (QC) Canada Inaugural UNESCO Chair, Centre EMT 2014-present

María Teresa Ruiz

L'Oréal-UNESCO for Women in Science laureate 2017 Astronomy Department, Universidad de Chile, Chile

Molly S Shoichet FRS

L'Oréal-UNESCO for Women in Science laureate 2015 University of Toronto, Canada

Vivian W. W. Yam

L'Oréal-UNESCO for Women in Science laureate 2011, Fellow of TWAS The University of Hong Kong. P. R. China.

SOCIETY & ACADEMY PRESIDENTS, CEOs, INDIVIDUALS

Philippe Adam

President of the French Optical Society

Jim Al Khalili FRS

University of Surrey

David Andrews

President of The International Society for Optics and Photonics SPIE University of East Anglia, United Kingdom

Per Arnold Andersen

Special advisor, VELUX Group Director, The Daylight Award , VELUX Foundation

Acad. Prof. Sergey Bagayev

President

Russian Physical Society

Vanderlei S. Bagnato

University of São Paulo - Brazil

Yuhong Bai

General Chief Editor of Light: Science & Applications Professor of CIOMP of Chinese Academy of Sciences

Hans Peter Beck

President of the Swiss Physical Society

Luc Bergé

President of the European Physical Society (EPS)

Jean-Luc Beylat

Chair, Nokia Bell Labs France Chair, Systematic Paris-Region cluster

Kallol Bhattacharya

Calcutta University
General Secretary The Optical Society of India

Paolo Biagioni

President of the Italian Optical Society SIOF

Peter Blattner

President of CIE

The International Commission on Illumination

Angela Bracco

President of the Italian Physical Society (SIF) Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy

Prof. Paul Kingsley Buah-Bassuah

University of Cape Coast. Cape Coast

Jennifer Cable

President, Thorlabs

Ana María Cetto

President, Sociedad Mexicana de Física (Mexican Physical Society) Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México

Constance Chang-Hasnain

President, The Optical Society (OSA) University of California Berkeley, USA

John Dudley

Chair, International Day of Light Steering Committee University Bourgogne Franche-Comté, France

Andrew Forbes

University of Witwatersrand South Africa

Jim Gates

President American Physical Society

Ajoy K Ghatak, FNASI, FOSA, FSPIE

President, National Academy of Sciences India (NASI)

Qihuang Gong

President of the Chinese Optical Society (COS)

Duarte Graça

President

International Association of Physics Students IAPS

Paul Hardaker

Chief Executive Officer
Institute of Physics, UK and Ireland

Rolf Heuer

President SESAME Council & former Director General CERN

John Holdsworth

President

Australian and New Zealand Optical Society

Gihan Kamel

SESAME Synchrotron, Jordan

Martti Kauranen

Dean, Faculty of Engineering and Natural Sciences Tampere University, Finland

Zahid Khan

IDL National Node Partner for India Jamia Millia Islamia (Central University), New Delhi, India

Sir Peter Knight FRS

Senior Research Investigator Blackett Lab, Imperial College London Past President of The Optical Society (OSA)

Andrea Lausi

Scientific Director, SESAME

Carlos Lee

Director General European Photonics Industry Consortium

Tim Licitra

Executive Director
Illuminating Engineering Society IES

Carmen S. Menoni

President of the IEEE Photonics Society Colorado State University, USA

Michael Moloney

Chief Executive Officer
American Institute of Physics

Nicole-Jeanne Moreau

Paris, Past-President of IUPAC - International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry

Joseph Niemela

Chair, International Day of Light Steering Committee
Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP), Italy

Bishnu Pal

Professor and Dean of Academics at Mahindra University Past President of the Optical Society of India, India

Jian-Wei Pan

Academician of Chinese Academy of Sciences, TWAS Fellow University of Science and Technology of China

Sudip Parikh

CEO of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)

Gilles Pauliat

President of the European Optical Society
Institut d'Optique Graduate School, CNRS, France

L. David Pye

Dean Emeritus, Alfred University Past President, The American Ceramic Society, The Int. Commission on Glass

Roberta Ramponi

President

International Commission for Optics ICO

Doug Razzano

Executive Director, IEEE Photonics Society

Daya Reddy

President

International Science Council

Ashley Robbins

COO. International Association of Lighting Designers IALD

Kent Rochford

CEO, SPIE

Elizabeth Rogan

CEO, The Optical Society (OSA)

Christophe Rossel

Chair of the European Physical Society Technology and Innovation Group EPS Past President IBM Research - Zurich, Switzerland

Petra Rudolf

Immediate Past President European Physical Society

Philip St. J. Russell

Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light Past President of The Optical Society (OSA)

Tuan Vo-Dinh

Director of the Fitzpatrick Institute for Photonics Duke University, USA

Sandro Scandolo

Senior Scientist

Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP), Italy

Acad. Alexander Sergeev

President

Russian Academy of Sciences

Anurag Sharma

IIT Delhi

President, The Optical Society of India

Evgeniy Shirshin

Lomonosov Moscow State University Russia

M. Cather Simpson

Professor of Physics & Chemical Sciences, The University of Auckland Chief Science Officer, Engender Technologies, New Zealand

Costel Subran

President

Fédération Française de Sociétés Scientifiques F2S The French Federation of Scientific Societies

Lluis Torner

Director The Institute of Photonic Sciences ICFO Spain

Harry Verhaar

Head of Global Public & Government Affairs Signify

Jess Wade

Imperial College Research Fellow Imperial College London

Ahmadou Wague

President of the African Physical Society University Cheikh Anta Diop, Dakar, Senegal

Paul Woafo

IUPAP Physics for Development Medal, 2020 Cameroon Physical Society Founding President. University of Yaoundé I, Cameroon

Rachel Pei Chin Won

International Editor, Nature Photonics London, United Kingdom

Guy Wormser

President of the French Physical Society (SFP)

Maria J. Yzuel

Chair of the Spanish Committee for the International Day of Light Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona, Spain

Victor Zadkov

Director, Institute of Spectroscopy, Russian Academy of Sciences Lomonosov Moscow State University

Richard Zeltner

European Physical Society Young Minds Programme Chair