You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 02:16:58 Dec 15, 2015, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide
Home Page

Indian Ocean


The Pacific Ocean, which takes up almost half the globe, is bordered on the west by the continents of Australia and Asia, and on the east by North and South America. There are numerous islands in the Pacific with three main island groups: Polynesia in the central Pacific, Melanesia in the southwest Pacific, and Micronesia in the western Pacific. Small Islands Voice activities have started in a number of the smaller islands. There are many international, regional and national governmental and non-governmental agencies operating in the region in the fields of communications, environment and development.

Click on the map to view the Pacific Islands (Islands named in red are conducting Small Islands Voice activities on-the-ground).


To get involved, contact :


UNESCO-Apia Office
P.O. Box 5766
Matautu-Uta, Apia, Samoa
T: + 685 24276
F: + 685 22253, + 685 26593


| Home Page |
About |Caribbean | Indian Ocean | Pacific | Young Islanders | Global Forum