You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 19:11:29 Mar 14, 2022, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide

Governing Board

The Governing Board

Composition :

The Institute is administered by a Governing Board, consisting of twelve members chosen for their competence and sitting in their personal capacity:

  • eight members including economists, educators and other recognized specialists in fields relevant to IIEP’s mission, with at least one member each from Latin America, Asia, Africa and the Arab States, and
  • four members designated, respectively by the United Nations, the World Bank, a UN Agency and a UN Economic Commission.

Such a unique composition ensures that IIEP’s programmes correspond to the needs of UNESCO Member States by drawing from diversity of individual knowledge and experiences. Such a small but effective and representative board is also excellent way of ensuring a balance between autonomy and accountability to the Organization

Role :

The Board determines the general policy and the nature of the Institute’s activities within the framework of the general policy of UNESCO. It decides on the programme and the budget of the Institute and ensures the implementation of its activities.

Board members


José Weinstein Cayuela (Chile)
Full Professor Universidad Diego Portales
Director Program Educational Leadership
Santiago, Chile


Designated members:


Dr Jaime Saavedra
Global Director, Education Global Practice, World Bank 


Daniela Trucco Horwitz
Senior Social Affairs Officer, Social Development Division
United Nations Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC)


Robert Jenkins
Chief, Education and Associate Director, 
Programme Division



Appointed members:


Dina El Khawaga (Egypt)
Professor of Public Policies and Public Administration,
Cairo University,
Cairo, Egypt

Dr. Sara Ruto Ebs (Kenya)
Chief Administrative Secretary
Ministry of Education

Dr. Keiichi Ogawa (Japan)
Professor & Department Chair
Graduate School of International Cooperation Studies
Kobe University, Japan

Dr. Máximo Torero Cullen (Peru)
Chief Economist
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)

Dr. Rong Wang (China)
Professor and Director
China Institute for Educational Finance Research (CIEFR)
Peking University
Beijing, China

Emiliana Vegas
Senior Fellow and Co-Director
Center for Universal Education
The Brookings Institution