You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 16:51:51 Mar 16, 2022, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide

Building peace in the minds of men and women


Nelson Mandela and Frederik W. De Klerk were the first laureates of UNESCO Félix Houphouët-Boigny Peace Prize in 1992

Since 1951, UNESCO's 23 prizes have been awarded to projects offering sustainable solutions to the global challenges of gender equality, the fight against poverty, access to quality and inclusive education, climate change monitoring and cultural diversity for a culture of peace. If innovation is at the heart of your strategy, if your project meets the new needs of local communities, supports digital transformation or anticipates the evolution of society by focusing on artificial intelligence, UNESCO Prizes can give a boost to your research, bring an expert eye and increase visibility on global innovation actors working to transform lives and make decisive progress for humanity.



The six UNESCO prizes for Education promote literacy, mother tongue development, use of information and communication technologies, effectiveness of teachers through improved pedagogy, sustainable development educational activities targeting socially or gender disadvantaged communities. The prizes values amount from US$ 40.000 to US$ 300.000 and are awarded annually or biennially to two or three laureates.

Natural Sciences

UNESCO prizes for Natural sciences honor outstanding teams and individuals to support the continuation of their work in the field of scientific research and cooperation. UNESCO seeks to acknowledge and empower men and women scientists from civil society, institutes or organizations that make remarkable contributions in all areas of sciences, from basic research to applied science. In the face of climate change and environmental hazards, the world needs more science and more research to find sustainable solutions to the challenges of today and tomorrow.

Social and Human Sciences

The six prizes for social and human sciences reward meritorious activities that contribute to the freedom, independence and dignity of peoples. While promoting ethical reflection on the transformations raised by advances in science and technology, UNESCO supports research, artistic creations or social achievements of peace activists who advocate for inclusion, tolerance and the rapprochement of cultures.


UNESCO prize for Culture was created in 1995 to reward outstanding actions to safeguard the world’s cultural landscapes, a category of World Heritage. Supported by the Greek Government, it bears the name of Melina Mercouri, former Minister of Culture of Greece who strongly advocated for integrated conservation respectful of environment, cultural traditions and historical values.

Communication and Information

Prizes for communication and information celebrate organizations and individuals who demonstrate innovation, courage and tenacity in defending freedom of expression, media development and free flow of information for inclusion as inalienable human rights. They also reward those who accomplished remarkable efforts for the preservation and universal access of documentary heritage as a common heritage of humanity.

Félix Houphouët-Boigny Peace Prize

Since 1991, the Félix Houphouët-Boigny Prize for Peace has honored over 20 eminent world figures and institutions who actively contributed to bring peace by solving international conflicts, by searching dialogue and negotiation in their conciliation role and by achieving ecumenical understanding for tolerance.