You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 14:19:54 Mar 15, 2022, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide

Gulf States & Yemen

Cluster Office for Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, Yemen

Engage with UNESCO

Stay connected with UNESCO

Partner with UNESCO

Learn more about our programs and results and join us to make a difference !

Contact us

Key Facts and Figures

Learn more about the Office and UNESCO's work

About the office

The UNESCO Doha Office serves as the Cluster Office for Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates since 1976. In late 2009, Yemen joined the cluster. These countries have benefited from UNESCO Doha’s support in the fields of education, natural sciences, culture, as well as communication and information.In line with UNESCO’s global priorities and five major programmes, the UNESCO Office in Doha sets a local programme of action in consultation with the seven before-mentioned Member States.

The vision of the UNESCO Office in Doha is to ”empower women and men to contribute to peaceful and inclusive knowledge-based societies, through education, the sciences, culture, and communication and information, in partnership with Member States, the private sector, and civil society, to fulfill the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).”
UNESCO Doha enjoys strong partnership with the private sector and excellent cooperation with the United Nations University, the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP), the United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF), the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP), the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO), the United Nations Information Centre (UNIC), and regional bodies such as the Regional Organization for the Protection of the Marine Environment (ROPME) and the Regional Organization for the Conservation of the Environment of the Red Sea and Gulf of Aden (PERSGA).